Intermunicipal Signing Ceremony - Theodore Roosevelt Park, Oyster Bay (August 2, 2012)

With beautiful Oyster Bay Harbor as the backdrop representatives from eleven villages, two towns and Nassau County pledged their commitment on August 8th, 2012 to an Inter-municipal Agreement under the new gazebo in Theodore Roosevelt Park in Oyster Bay. The agreement codifies the relationship between the municipalities that have been meeting since January 2010 at the recommendation of Friends of the Bay, a local environmental advocacy organization.

Speakers at the event included Congressman Steve Israel, Nassau County Legislator Delia DeRiggi-Whitton, Town of Oyster Bay Councilman Chris Coschignano, City of Glen Cove Mayor Ralph Suozzi and Bayville Mayor Doug Watson. All stressed the need for inter-municipal cooperation and the benefits that working together will have on the two harbors.